I have been doing a lot of reading and searching about web development issues lately. Actually it’s a catch up exercise for things that I should have followed but missed.

So here is a list of a few projects that I was really pleased to discover.

  1. CSSLint For those that would like to have some advise and an overlooking tutor in their CSS projects, here is a service that does exactly this: analyzes css files and offers ‘advise’ about usual pitfalls and patterns to be avoided.  CSSLint is a project of  Nicholas C. Zakas and Nicole Sullivan.
  2. 960.gs As you can guess by the name, it’s a grid system for 12 or 16 column grids. I have never used a grid system before. I prefer to hack my way to the design from scratch. But the simplicity of the thing is tempting, at least for prototyping work. 906.gr is a project of  Nathan Smith.
  3. Handlebars Littering javascript with a lot of html is an anti-pattern. The solution? Use some sort of javascript templating mechanism such as Handlebars.  Simple and elegant. A brain child of Yehuda Katz.
  4. Backbone.js A javascript Model View Controller (MVC)  … backbone for web applications. Developed by the guys responsible for DocumentCloud.
Now they have to come together in a future project of mine 🙂
One thought on “Web things I came across lately

Comments are now closed.