Image representing Twitter as depicted in Crun...
Image via CrunchBase

I own various blogs. Most of them I channel to twitterfeed to generate notifications on twitter about new posts. I prefer twitterfeed to blog  add ons as it is a generic solution independent of  blog platform. It can be slow sometimes, but, then, who is in a hurry? I do not run news related blogs that sprint to catch the publicity moment.

Today I tried to add a new blog to twitterfeed and this way I noticed that twitterfeed now supports various shortening services, my favorite one included: urlborg.

When I post a link to twitter  I try to use urlborg as much as I can because it provides me with valeuable statistics: how many times my links are clicked.

Without this piece of information I would be practically twitter blind. Unlike blogs, in twitter you only have two measures to testify whether  people pay the slightest attention to what you say:

  • Replies and Directs
  • Clicks on links

The latter would be impossible without the use of a url shortening service that provides stats. And that is precisely what urlborg does for me.

And, now, by employing it in twitterfeed, I can have also stats for the autogenerated links for my blogposts.

I have to say here, that checking the referrers to my blog and the time spent on my blogs, I have observed that people coming from twitter stay the longest. Why is that I do not know, but it is something I cannot ignore.
One could argue that I could derive the  information about twitter originated visitors from other sources too, like Google Analytics.

True, but too many clicks away.

Besides, there is another valuable piece of information in the urlborg stats, that would be lost otherwise: the comparison between links of my posts and all other links. Do the first  carry less value (as they comprise a kind of self promotion) and how much less? This is what I am about to find out. I will keep you … posted 🙂

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
5 thoughts on “Who reads your tweets or why short is beatiful

Comments are now closed.